NASA Designated Countries List



This NASA list of "Designated Countries" is a compilation of countries and territories with which the United States:

- I) Has no diplomatic relations.
- II) Countries determined by Department of State to be "State Sponsors of Terrorism" or identified by the Department of Commerce as "Terrorist Supporting Countries,"
- III) Countries under Sanction or Embargo by the United States.
- IV) Countries of Missile Technology Concern.

All Foreign National visitors require Center Export Administrator review and approval; in addition, Foreign National visitors to NASA born in or citizens of these countries require review and approval by an Agency International Desk Officer and the Headquarters Export Administrator. All NASA mail to these countries requires the concurrence of a NASA Center Export Administrator, in accordance with NPR 1450.10D, NASA Correspondence Management and Communications Standards and Style, Appendix E. Foreign National Visitors who are currently citizens of, or born in, Countries Designated by an "X" in Column II will be denied, except in very particular circumstances.

DESIGNATED STATUS *

CODE	DESCRIPTION	I	П	III	IV
AF	Afghanistan			X	
ВН	Bahrain				Χ
BY	Belarus			Χ	Χ
ВТ	Bhutan	X			
MM	Burma (Now Myanmar)			Χ	
KH	Cambodia			Χ	
СТ	Central African Republic			X	
CN	China, Peoples Republic **			X	Χ
CD	Congo (Formerly Zaire; Democratic Republic of)			X	
CU	Cuba		X	X	
EG	Egypt				Χ
ER	Eritrea			X	
ET	Ethiopia			X	
HT	Haiti			X	
IR	Iran	Χ	X	X	Χ
IQ	Iraq			Χ	Χ
IL	Israel				Χ
JO	Jordan				Χ
KP	Korea, North	X	X	Χ	Χ
KW	Kuwait				Χ
LB	Lebanon			Χ	Χ
LY	Libya			X	Χ
MO	Macau				Χ
NI	Nicaragua			Χ	
ОМ	Oman				Χ
PK	Pakistan				Χ

September 13, 2024

CODE	DESCRIPTION	I	П	III	IV
QA	Qatar				Χ
SA	Saudi Arabia				Χ
so	Somalia			X	
SS	South Sudan (Republic of)			X	
SU	Sudan			X	
SY	Syria		X	X	Χ
TW	Taiwan**	X			
AE	United Arab Emirates				Χ
VE	Venezuela			X	Χ
YE	Yemen				Χ
EH	Western Sahara	X			
zw	Zimbabwe			Х	

Reference: 22 CFR §126, as amended through 89 FR 18796 (current as of March 15, 2024); 15 CFR 746, as amended through 89 FR 18780 (current as of March 15, 2024), and 15 CFR 740 Supplement No. 1 (current as of March 15, 2024) and https://www.state.gov/state-sponsors-of-terrorism/ (current as of July 19, 2023).

- *Note: Russia is being excluded from the Designated Country List despite being added to Country Group D:4 on February 24, 2020, and to §126.1 (l) to avoid disruptions to operational cooperative activities.
- **Note: As of 2020-12-13, the Special Administrative Region of Hong Kong was removed as a separate destination under the Export Administration Regulations. Similarly, for purposes of the Designated Countries List, Hong Kong SAR is considered the same destination as China PR. Although Taiwan is not recognized as a country by the U.S. Department of State, it is considered a separate destination under the Export Administration Regulations and also for the purposes of the Designated Countries List. (see: 15 CFR Supplement No. 1 to Part 738 Commerce Country Chart).

Key to Designated Status

- I. Countries with which the United States has no Diplomatic Relations
- II. Countries determined by the Department of State to support Terrorism (<u>Department of State-State Sponsors of Terrorism</u>) or (<u>15 CFR Supplement 1 to Part 740</u>, Country Group E:1), of the Export Administration Regulations, administered by the Bureau of Industry and Security, Department of Commerce.
- III. Countries under Sanction or Embargo by the United States (22 CFR §126.1 (d.1), (d.2), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), (n), (o), (p), (r), (s), (t), (u), (v) and (w) (22 CFR §126.1 ITAR Prohibited exports, imports, and sales to or from certain countries); and 15 CFR Part 746 EAR Embargoes and Other Special Controls
- IV. Countries of Missile Technology Concern (<u>15 CFR Supplement 1 to Part 740, Country Group D:4</u>, of the Export Administration Regulations, administered by the Bureau of Industry and Security, Department of Commerce)